Skip to content

surprise!!

August 30, 2013

This is an update to the post I made on Tuesday– you, know, the band of gypsies and a little paint? Well, my day ended on a slightly different note. I tried alluding to that through comments, but either through faulty technological connections or drugged brain connections I have been unable to do so. Here’s the scoop: I am in the hospital with a pelvis fractured in multiple places and three broken ribs. Have a couple of colorful hematomas, too, given my love for color. The good news is that the tube in my collapsed lung came out yesterday and that seems to be doing fine. The rest of the healing will follow, I’m convinced of that.

You can thank me later for not including photos in this blog post. I’m also happy to accept thanks in the comment section, because this experience has been less than fun and words of encouragement will NOT fall on deaf ears. I could use them for certain.

Thanks, Friends.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2013 11:52 pm

    OK. what the hell happened. tell us. everything.

    sending you MUCH MUCH encouragement and prayers of healing….

    *love*

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      August 31, 2013 1:08 am

      I still love my girl, more than ever. We’re assuming it was a horsefly– she was so scared. Thankfully the fire station/paramedics are a straight shot two miles north and they were wonderful. They got me stabilized and moved pretty quickly, although my family was pretty upset. I’m smiling– I’m alive!!

  2. Janet A permalink
    August 31, 2013 12:39 am

    Oh, Lordy. Are you OK? And yes, please do tell. Were you riding or stationary or both. I’ve always thought the same might happen to me in the horse world I’ve always loved so much. Sending lots of Corgi hugs and cat kisses. Are you in Boulder or Longmont? Up for visitors? Janet A

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      August 31, 2013 1:00 am

      I’m at Good Samaritan in Lafayette– it was closest and there was a bit of trouble breathing. In answer to your first question, first I was riding, then I was flying , and THEN I was stationary. I do not personally endorse this riding and dismount progression. I would love to see you. Be forewarned– I am NOT pretty!

  3. Charlie permalink
    August 31, 2013 3:26 am

    Hi Janet, We’re so sorry to hear about your accident, but happy to see that you are on your way to recovery. Glad to see that your sense of humor didn’t suffer either! When you are feeling a bit better, do you want me to try to sneak a couple of the “fuzzy slipper” crowd in to see you???

    Charlie & Jan

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      August 31, 2013 3:50 am

      Yes– let’s see what you can do!
      I’ll be listening for the old familiar clip-clop! Best bets would still be Meadbh and Cormac, ’cause they’re lighter. Just saying…

  4. August 31, 2013 8:38 am

    Hi Janet, so sorry to hear this rather alarming news, but really glad you’ve kept your sense of humour. My daughter Marnie fell off her scooter, once, when she was three or four, and said afterwards ‘I felt just like superman, and then I lost all my powers’ – I have a mental picture of something similar happening to you. Good news that you’re mending fast, by the sounds of it. Keep smiling. Thinking of you. x

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      September 4, 2013 3:27 am

      Oh, Lois– I couldn’t be happier to hear from you!! I think of you so often and treasure each and every painted piece I have from you! The impetus behind our barn studio renovation is Bloomsbury painting, and I hope so much that some day you will come and paint in it. Your adorable quote from Marnie was utterly appropriate and we all got repeated laughs from it, even me with my sore ribs! Please let’s keep in touch. I want to hear all about what you are up to!
      xoxo

      • September 5, 2013 6:46 pm

        Hi Janet! Yes, let’s do keep in touch. I’m so sorry I didn’t make it to Charleston the last time – events became overwhelming that year and I didn’t know if I was coming or going. However, all’s good now, I’ve moved house, and I even have a small outbuilding (well, it’s a shed, really) which I’ll be using as a studio, just as soon as I can get my backside in gear. My new house was a bit of a state when I got here, and I’ve had lots to do and no time to get all arty – just been painting everything white, which isn’t like me at all, but I’m starting to add colour and pattern now, and that feels very good indeed. I’ve been following your blog, so I’ve seen your beautiful new place and your wonderful family, two-legged and four-legged, and shared your happiness at this latest stage in your life. Looks fantastic from here! Keep mending! xxxx

      • sassysistersink permalink*
        September 5, 2013 7:58 pm

        I am so pleased for you, and wish that I could come for tea! I’m glad that life has moved forward for you. We plan to be in London in September of 2014, which would include a trip to Sussex. Perhaps we’ll have a chance to meet up again there! By the way, I am just finishing a book written by a woman we met as a docent at Monk’s House on our first visit there– Charleston and Monk’s House: The Intimate House Museums of Virginia Woolf and Vanessa Bell by Nuala Hancock. I’ve searched for the publication she was working on ever since and found that it was published last year by an academic press. It is quite academic in nature but I have loved some of the things she has had to say about the phenomenological experience of entering these homes and feeling immersed in the past lives of the artists. So true, and I can’t wait to do it again and again! I look forward to seeing you blossom through your painting once again!

  5. Mary permalink
    September 1, 2013 1:23 am

    Oh Jan, I’m so sorry this happened to you. I will be sending you healing thoughts. Take care and don’t overdo it. You need rest to heal. So glad you have family and friends close.
    Love,
    Mary

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      September 4, 2013 3:22 am

      My tribe is the best and I am being well cared for. I hope that you are sending your roots deep into your home and family as retirement begins to seem a bit more like real life. I think of you, so often, with love!
      xoxo

  6. Brandi permalink
    September 2, 2013 1:36 pm

    Oh Janet! Do heal well and quickly.
    Sending bone-mending-strength love!
    Brandi

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      September 4, 2013 3:18 am

      Thanks, Brandi! I’d be a top contender in a bruising contest right now– know of any prizes out there for that?! I am mending and will go home tomorrow. Thanks for reaching out!

  7. Janet A permalink
    September 3, 2013 12:50 am

    Once you’re settled at home I’d love to stop by and continue our chat. Would also love to meet the tribe. Here’s a list of things to keep you busy while you’re stationary.

    EonDesign.etsy.com, BlueHourDesigns.etsy.com (she’s local), http://www.AtFallenLeafCreek.com (fabulous silversmith, Cindy Hoo, RosyRevolver.etsy.com, BlueGnome.etsy.com, TanakaVintage.etsy.com (vintage boots and shoes), MercuryOrchid.etsy.com (new items listed on Thursdays)

    Robert’s taking a silversmith class with me in mid-September. Would love to join you
    in the new loft. I’ll bring wine and song.

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      September 4, 2013 3:16 am

      Yes, yes– we will get together!! Round up your wine and song and make ready– the girls have already priced out subfloor for the studio and are working on the insulation!
      Thanks so much for coming to see me. I’ve spent time today looking at some of the sites and looking forward to returning to “normal”!!

  8. Nuala Hancock permalink
    March 14, 2014 2:58 pm

    I came across this recently by chance – and I’m so sorry to hear of your accident. Trust that you are by now significantly recovered.
    I too remember meeting you at Monk’s House a few years ago, and I’m stirred that you took the trouble to seek out my book on Charleston and Monk’s House after your visit. How lovely! I’m very happy that the content resonated for you.

    With all best wishes
    Nuala Hancock

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      March 14, 2014 7:38 pm

      Nuala! I am delighted that you found me here– I’ve thought often of the day we met you and the inspiring conversation that we had regarding the influence that Vanessa and Virginia had on each other emotionally and creatively. That was our very first trip to Sussex, and we’ve been back three times since then.
      Thankfully I have healed from my injuries and am feeling quite well! I will contact you via email to share some further information, but I do have another blog post about our 2010 trip to Charleston that you can find here:
      https://sassysistersink.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/where-we-travel-south-to-the-downs-of-sussex/
      Thank you for taking the time to contact me!
      Warm regards,
      Janet

Leave a Reply

