Skip to content

a band of gypsies and a little paint

August 27, 2013

most of you understand that we do, in fact, have a band of gypsies.

these lovely horses were the impetus behind our move to the farm.

we also have a little (well, perhaps not so little, but singular anyway…) paint.

(as in, horse.)

in fact, he’s the one who started us down this road

not even three years ago.

(seriously??  wow.  sometimes we resemble super-achievers.)

i digress, as per usual.

anyway, when we first discovered this property

i had high hopes of finding the perfect name for it.

we joked about calling it the south branch of

the irish rose farm,

the supplier for our gypsy horse addiction interest and commitment.

i proposed band of gypsies and a little paint

for its bohemian feel as well as its more literal application

which was met with some disdain by the other founding members.

we’ve i’ve defaulted to calling it ‘wonderland’,

which it really IS but the name is hardly original

and is, in fact, already taken by a farm in a neighboring county.

IMG_9169

IMG_9170

now there is something in the air that makes me inclined

to once again propose my original idea…

i think it has its origins in the way that i have embraced

the whole ‘retirement’ gig this fall–

it involves getting up early,

starting the day with a specific list of things to be accomplished,

and holding myself accountable for them at day’s end.

what remains unfinished immediately transfers over

to the next day’s list.

perhaps it’s just my personal shame quotient,

but once i’ve transferred the same item

for an entire week it’s time to get the job done.

the good news is:  it’s working!

this system, combined with an online class i took this summer,

is helping me to realize goals that have been floating around

in the vast reaches of my own cerebral internet

for quite some time.

DSC03500

DSC03503

IMG_9171

yay, right?!

so…

one of the things on our ‘hopes and dreams for the future’ list

is to create an art studio upstairs in the beautiful, solid, 1895 barn.

the other morning, after feeding the horses,

i found myself going up there and taking a serious look around.

it occurred to me that it would actually be possible to do

a low-budget transformation of this space to get it up and running.

i’m talking insulation, drywall, subfloor, and paint.

(oh, and window cleaner.  the good news is that

there are already four window with screens!)

the niceties of heating, cooling, running water, etc.

are not absolutely essential prior to beginning this project

and working happily up there three seasons of the year.

now, if you squint real hard and look through your

rose-colored glasses (feel free to borrow a pair of mine–

i’ve got plenty…),

you can envision this with me:

no cheating…

are you squinting?

DSC03508

DSC03509

DSC03510

DSC03511

the views are nice–

you can even see the band of gypsies right out the door!

DSC03512

and it’s already got a good, sturdy set of trex deck stairs.

DSC03513

if you look closely through the trees

DSC03514

you can even see the little paint!

DSC03515

sunday night at our weekly family potluck dinner i brought up the idea…

and people, my tribe is ON it!!!!

everyone offered help to bring this project to fruition–

the planning, the construction, the set-up,

and the participation in art-making.

we even have a name (oh, the irony)–

dropcloths and debauchery.

(don’t get the wrong idea.)

we also have a mixologist,

although i’m not sure she was talking about paint…

we envision one end for easels and the other end

for furniture painting (we’ve never met a surface we couldn’t improve.)

so there you have it:

band of gypsies and a little paint.

rose is going for it.

IMG_9157

this time it had better fly,

or we’re going to name this place fuzzy slippers farm:

IMG_9183

IMG_9187

IMG_9189

IMG_9190

IMG_9191

IMG_9192

IMG_9193

don’t make me do that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    August 27, 2013 6:55 pm

    Didn’t have to squint. Not one bit. That space is going to be beautiful! Good for you!

  2. UmberDove permalink
    August 28, 2013 12:33 am

    OOOOOOH! I think that was the most vocal reading of a post evah. I love “a band of gypsies and a little paint,” that space upstairs, HOLY gorgeous – it’s going to be so perfect. You may wake up one morning to find me tucked into a corner of the barn I know that sounds like a person joking, but I’m not. I’ll even be wearing my ariats and half-chaps. I can’t wait to see where you go woman!!

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      August 29, 2013 12:41 am

      Hello, lovely one! Weeelll, where I went quite unexpectedly last night after a sudden parting with Rosé was to the hospital by ambulance! I broke my pelvis in several places along with three ribs. The good news is no surgery is required, and the bad news is that there is no comfortable position to be found. Don’t know how long I’ll be here, but I have a studio on hold so it can’t be too long! You are MORE THAN WELCOME to come and play along

  3. August 28, 2013 4:36 am

    Janet, what a fun post! I love your studio space and it looks pretty good already – good bones. And your journals are simply spectacular. So, am I right in understand you will have more time very soon to enjoy your farm and horses and studio? As in retirement? Yay! P.S. You keep a very neat and tidy place!

    • sassysistersink permalink*
      September 4, 2013 3:43 am

      Diana! I have been playing a losing game of “find Diana’s posts” on my phone and iPad since entering the hospital (that story told in a brief post titled “surprise”, which it sure WAS!). I don’t know if it was my devices, connections, or narcotics-fogged brain cells, but tonight I am finally able to get some of my responses made, belated though they may be!
      Yes, I am retired, and work on the studio has continued in my absence. The girls have priced subfloor and are looking at insulation options. Can’t wait!!

  4. August 28, 2013 8:37 am

    absolutely.
    even looks liveable, in my book. like, for guest quarters.

    can’t wait to see your upgrades and outcome!

Leave a Reply

